Welcome to the Pattern Table!

Why a pattern table you ask? Well, in an industry setting it is a hub of activity. It is where designs come to life through manipulation of paper and fabric. It is the stage in which trial and error plays out as samplemakers and cutters gather round the patternmaker and troubleshoot together. It is a forum for discussions and debates. It can also serve as the perfect table to spread the workplace party fare for a celebration.

I have been master of my Pattern table for almost 10 years now, granted at different tables over the years in Chicago and NYC garment district, but enough to learn from all the work that has passed over it. I don’t claim to be an expert, but I’ve learned a lot through my mistakes. In fact, I would assume that 90% of my knowledge has come from learning things the hard way. I have a preoccupation with all technical minutiae and a slight fit obsession. My goal for Patterntable is to throw out some of my ideas and see what bounces back.

Leave a Reply

